Academic Affairs Leadership/Governance

Open All | Close All


    Undergraduate Coordinators Committee

    The Undergraduate Coordinators' Committee was formed to bring together those individuals who are most knowledgeable and responsible for assisting faculty and students in the academic advising process.

    The committee's members represent all the undergraduate colleges and schools as well as related academic support services. The committee deals with problems that arise in connection with any procedures or forms affecting students, from registration to recording grades. This includes issues dealing with the University's academic calendar, scheduling changes for courses and programs, financial aid and billing procedures.

    The committee meets every three weeks and makes recommendations for changes to the provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

    Committee Members

    Tyra Dahlerup Office of Admissions
    Janiece Flores-Davies Dental Hygiene, School of Dentistry
    Len Kloft College of Business Administration
    Karin La Rose-Neil McAuley School of Nursing
    Taessa Malone-Carter McAuley School of Nursing
    Victoria Mantzopoulos College of Liberal Arts & Education
    Amy Wisniewski Office of the Registrar
    Evan Peterson College of Business Administration
    Diane Praet Office of the Registrar (Chair)
    Noah Resnick School of Architecture
    Carolyn Rimle College of Engineering & Science
    Liz Roberts-Kirchhoff College of Engineering & Science
    Lily Swan International Students Office
    Felicia Hartinger Student Success Center
    Monica Williams Dean of Students

    University Tenure and Promotion Committee

    The University Tenure and Promotion Committee is composed of nine members elected from among the tenured faculty of each of the colleges and schools of the University, excepting the Schools of Dentistry and Law. A representative from the Library also serves on the committee. They serve three-year staggered terms and are eligible for re-election. 

    The committee meets once in the Fall term to elect a chair, review procedures, and discuss and decide on applications for Faculty Research and Development Leaves. Its recommendations are then submitted to the vice president for Academic Affairs.

    The committee also chooses members for the University Workload Committee from a slate proposed by the vice president for Academic Affairs and a chair for that Committee from a slate proposed by the dean of the law school. It composes its own slate of faculty representatives to be submitted to the vice president for Academic Affairs.

    The chief business of the committee is conducted in a series of meetings in the winter term to review applications for tenure and promotion. The committee makes its decisions according to the UDMPU Collective Bargaining Agreement that specifies such issues as requirements for tenure and qualifications for the ranks of assistant, associate and full professor. In addition to the Collective Bargaining Agreement, each college and school publishes its own criteria for tenure and promotion. These statements are considered and the committee works to ensure the criteria are equitable across the different colleges and schools and candidates are judged accordingly.

    The members of the committee interpret the criteria of their college/school to other members. These criteria cover the expectations for high-quality teaching, scholarly research, and University and community service. The candidate's application includes such material as summaries of student evaluations, letters of recommendation, documentation of research and other information that is carefully reviewed by the Committee before a recommendation is made to the vice president for Academic Affairs.

    Finally, the committee meets with the vice president for Academic Affairs to discuss the outcome of these applications. In disputed cases, further discussion takes place to arrive at a resolution of the dispute. The Collective Bargaining Agreement also provides that an applicant may appeal a decision of the vice president for Academic Affairs to the president, if the University Committee has ruled in favor of the application. In such a case, the chair of the committee would meet with the president.

    Committee Members

    • Rachelle Belanger (term ends 2021)
    • Rosanne Burson (term ends 2020)
    • Wladyslaw Fuchs (term ends 2021)
    • Ram Kesavan (term ends 2021)
    • Kris McLonis (term ends 2020)
    • Alexa Rihana-Abdallah (term ends 2020)
    • Charles Wilson (term ends 2021)

    Commission for Women in the University

    Mission Statement 

    The Commission for Women in the University exists to promote a supportive, respectful and equitable environment for all women in the University community.


    • ASSESS current and future policies, procedures, and practices.
    • ADVOCATE for diverse peoples at all levels of the University.
    • ADVISE appropriate administrators, groups, and individuals in support of the CWU mission.
    • INSPIRE women to succeed, achieve and lead.
    • CELEBRATE the accomplishments of University women past, present and future.
    • CREATE positive change where necessary for the benefit of the entire University community.

    Committee Members


    Academic Integrity/Conduct

    Allegation of Scientific/Scholarly Misconduct Inquiry Investigation Committee

    Although the instances of verifiable scientific/scholarly misconduct have remained small in number, they have been highly publicized. This has, understandably, led to increased concern regarding this issue within the scientific community, academic institutions, federal agencies and the general public. As a result, federal agencies have mandated that those institutions engaged in federally funded research and related activities initiate formal policies and procedures for dealing with allegations of misconduct. University of Detroit Mercy, therefore, developed the Policy and Procedures for Dealing with Allegations of Scientific/Scholarly Misconduct. The Inquiry/Investigation Committee is an integral part of the procedures used by the University when allegations of scientific scholarly misconduct are made. The complete charge to this committee may be viewed under the above underlined policy and procedures document.

    Meeting Schedule

    This committee meets as needed.

    Committee Members

    The academic vice president shall appoint an Inquiry Committee within ten (10) working days of notification by the Misconduct Policy Officer that an investigation of an allegation of scientific/scholarly misconduct is warranted.


    Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Committee